Minato

The Plague and how to cure it. (Post-mortem post for issues)

Posted (edited)

"Wait who the heck are you? Y u doin dis?"

I've been a dev for 3 (or 4? don't remember) servers in the past (from 2010 to 2012). Mostly I handled all issues and decisions alone (even if I'm not the financer, I stronghand them!), all my servers had no problem getting content updates, but sadly, they all closed because of me being inactive in marketing to all those servers (and all of them are high rate stuff so....). So I know how servers die because I see it happen before my eyes. Also played a lot of servers (mid rates, high rates) that had a lot of population but somehow didn't survive. I regularly consult (when I was a dev) rAthena forums to check new things and get some scripts and customize it for my server, and created them from ground up when needed to. Up to you if you'll believe me or not. 

Starting off with a run-down of the issues that plagued our society.. I mean our server:

1. Communication
  2. Bugs, bugs, and bugs!
  3. Content
  4. Us being a private server.
  5. r0 Cares!
  6. Staff?

Communication?